Katharine: Peg Bag

peg bag

This peg bag resulted from my brother offering me his jumper for my stash. It was no longer wearable (except by a toddler!) as he had shrunk it by washing and drying it incorrectly.  Just before his birthday my Mum suggested he could do with a peg bag. It didn’t sound like the most exciting present, but given past events it had practical value. His jumper sprang to my mind.  Could I use it to create a home accessory fit for a man’s house?

peg bag 2

I slightly altered the shape of the jumper, cinching it in at the waist as this should prevent pegs from falling out. I sewed it twice and didn’t trim it to maintain its strength. I marked and cut the opening, reinforcing the corners with embroidered crosses. The letters were cut from a man’s brushed cotton shirt. They were fused on then backstitched and embroidered.

He liked the result and was happy to see his jumper performing a new role!

Leave a Reply

