Review: Berylune Workshop

This weekend I had great fun at a needle felting workshop at Berylune in Leamington Spa. The craft space is above the shop and provides a lovely light space to work in. There is a big table so you have plenty of room to work and the room is filled with craft materials which helps to get you in the mood for making. You get to drink tea from vintage Pyrex and eat yummy homemade cakes which adds to the relaxing atmosphere.

I had wanted to try needle felting for a while, but I didn’t want to try it by myself, I thought I might need help. I am really glad I tried this workshop as it was really helpful to have a teacher on hand as I did get stuck a few times. There were four of us at the workshop and it was a really fun afternoon chatting and felting.

We started by making a flat shape using a biscuit cutter as a guide and then moved on to making a 3D shape in the form of an owl. I got on quite well with the flat shape, but need a lot more practice at making a more complex 3D shape, however I am actually quite pleased with my owl and you can tell what it is supposed to be.

needle felting

This workshop was run by Lara, you can find out more about her on her website Sew Smith.

I am really pleased with my first attempts at needle felting and will try to make some more, there have been a few cute animals in Mollie Makes that I might try.

I would recommend the workshops at Berylune as they can provide a more in depth workshop than we can at sew make believe and it is a lovely atmosphere to craft in. Sew make believe members can get a 10% discount on all workshops at Berylune, you can find out more on our Meetup pages.

One response to “Review: Berylune Workshop

  1. Pingback: Winter in Madrid | Zoë's Crafts·

Leave a Reply

