Abakhan Challenge

Abakhan got in touch with me and asked if I would be interested in trying their ‘A creative budget’ challenge. I got to choose anything I wanted from their website  with a budget of £15. My challenge then was to see what I could make from the materials I selected.

stuff

I stuck to a red and white theme and picked a selection of fabric, felt and trims. I also have a piece of wadding. I haven’t used all the materials yet, but I am very pleased with what I have made so far and how cheaply I have been able to do it.

The first thing I made was a simple felt pouch for my new Kindle. I wanted something to protect it when it was in my bag, and I only had a short time to make it in so it had to be simple. I picked two colours of felt from the pack of 8 sheet (£2.30 per pack).

kindle cover

I cut two rectangles large enough to cover the Kindle and a scalloped piece in the other colour to fit along the top edge of one piece.

I stitched the scalloped piece on using my sewing machine and then stitched down three sides leaving the top open. My Kindle slips in the pouch nicely. I then made another one as it was so quick to make!

I will share more projects from this challenge with you in the future (when I have made them!).

One response to “Abakhan Challenge

  1. Pingback: sew make believe » Zoë: Cherry Apron·

Leave a Reply

