Zoe W: T-shirt Customisation

I was at the till in a charity shop in Lincoln just before Christmas buying some paperchains, when I spotted a brown v-neck t-shirt in my size for the bargain price of £1.79. I love wearing brown as it is far more flattering to my colouring than black is, and I love v-neck t-shirts so I grabbed it and added it to my purchase.
But when I got home I found it was actually a bit short for me. No clothes I buy are ever the right length. I always have to take trousers down or (more rarely) take them up. Sleeves are always too long and I have to fold them up. So rather than discard my bargain buy I had a think about what I could do to make it more suitable for my awkward body shape.
I bought 3 metres of stretch brown lace on eBay for £1.80 plus £1.00 postage and I hand stitched it to the bottom hem.
zoe1
I was pleased with how it looked, and decided to add it to the arms just to balance it out. Overall I think it looks great and the colour match was better than I could have hoped for. It is still a bargain for £4.59 and an hour of sewing, and I’ll enjoy wearing it when the weather warms up
photo (1)
Leave a Reply

