Magazine Review: Cross Stitcher

I was given a subscription to Cross Stitcher as a Christmas gift, I have received quite a few issues now so thought it was time to review the magazine.

I really like this magazine, most of the designs are quite small so I feel that I stand a chance of actually completing them, they would also be good for a beginner for this reason. There of often designs by some of my favourite designers; Emily Peacock and Felicity Hall, including these ones that I particularly like.

I will keep these magazines for a long time as there are so many designs that I want to make, I imagine I will return to them again and again. This means that I probably wouldn’t want more than a year long subscription or I will never get to make all the designs I like. Craft magazines often become dated so I might find that after a few years I am ready for another subscription. I had a previous subscription in 1992, there are very few designs in these copies that I would want to make now.

I really like the free gifts, so far I have made one complete kit – a card featuring a koala bear, and I am half way through a needle case with a cross stitched front panel. This month the gift is to make an embroidered heart designed by Jan Constantine, another designer I really like, I am looking forward to starting it.

I enjoy Cross Stitcher, there is a good mix of traditional cross stitch, cross stitch on other materials such as felt, and other sewing projects that use cross stitch for embellishment. I think I will take inspiration from the magazines for other crafts as well. One of my favourite things about the magazine is the way the projects are presented and the fact that most of the designs are modern and fresh, the sort of thing I would be happy to display in my home or give as a gift.

One response to “Magazine Review: Cross Stitcher

  1. Hi Zoe – I’m so glad you’re enjoying CrossStitcher mag!!! The team loves making it – commissioning new designs, making them into lush projects, and shooting the photography. Thanks for the great write up – it means loads to the team – keep on stitching! Jenny x

Leave a Reply

