Tutorial: Maple Leaf Block Part Two

Here are my notes on the second stage of the Maple Leaf block:
Layers

Once you have your patchwork block finished, we need to build the quilt sandwich.  Cut out some backing fabric and wadding which measures just a little bigger than your top (it will be trimmed to size once the quilting has been done).

NB: If you are making a quilt-as-you-go sampler quilt and your quilt has sash strips (strips which border each block), add these before measuring your wadding and backing fabric. I forgot to do this the first time!

The backing fabric can be anything if you are making the block into a cushion since the backing will be hidden.

I like to use natural wadding as it is soft and yummy to work with but any wadding will do fine. I bought mine from The Quilter’s Den in Warwick a few years ago.

Place your backing fabric face down on the table, then place your wadding on top, then place your block on top, face up. This is your quilt sandwich.

Basting

To hold all three layers together, you can either pin them using normal pins, using normal safety pins or using curved basting pins.

I have never used these but I might buy some for my next large quilting project. For a small block like this, normal pins will suffice.  You can also tack the pieces together if you prefer.  Tack through the layers in a + shape and then a x shape.

Quilting

You can use any design you want when it comes to quilting this block. The suggested pattern is to follow the seams of the patchwork about ¼ inch inside each square or triangle. Use a thread which is contrasting for maximum effect (although your stitches will be very easy to see!) or a blending thread for a more subtle  look!

I use straw needles because as I mentioned before, this revolutionised my hand-quilting technique.  I also use quilting cotton as it is stronger and thicker than normal cotton which makes the quilting much easier.  Here is a video of my demonstrating my (less than perfect, believe me) technique.

When you have finished the quilting, trim the edges to match the top (and if the top borders are a little uneven, take this opportunity to trim it all so it’s even!). Now you can either press the edges under or you can make some binding for the edges.  Then you can and appliqué the block onto something (a cushion, a bag etc).

If you are making the block into a larger quilt-as-you-go quilt, we will be posting details of how to join your blocks in the coming months.

3 responses to “Tutorial: Maple Leaf Block Part Two

  1. I’ve started on my second one of these, with a view to making a sampler quilt for my God-daughter, so I’m grateful you pointed out that the wadding will need to be larger! Perfect timing

  2. Pingback: sew make believe » Meetup: Social Sit ‘n’ Sew·

  3. Pingback: sew make believe » Tutorial: Maple Leaf Block·

Leave a Reply

