Zoë: Fleece Bear

I have mostly been doing patchwork recently so for a change this week I have made a fleece bear. This bear is a pattern from Sew Hip (issue 22 from way back in November 2010). I made this bear for our four month old nephew, I was planning on making it for when he was born, but four months late isn’t too bad!

The bear took about three and a half hours to make, a lot of that time was spent copying and cutting out the pattern pieces and then the fabric pieces, actually making the bear wasn’t too difficult. I was surprised with how simple the bear was to make, when I was faced with all the odd looking pieces I wasn’t sure how I would get them all put together correctly, in the end it was fun to see how it all came together.

I used a cheap IKEA fleece blanket so it was very cheap to make and I have plenty of fabric left to make a whole lot of bears! The fleece is quite thin which made it perfect for this project as it was easy to sew the small pieces.

Leave a Reply

