Lysy: Sewaholic pattern reviews

I’ve already blogged about how much I like Tasia at Sewaholic; well, here is a quick review of some of her patterns! As I mentioned in the blog review, the Sewaholic line is designed for pear-shaped ladies and so is designed with style details to flatter and also to fit the pear. The trouble is her designs are so amazing those of us who are not pear-shaped are desperate to alter, tuck and rework our way into those lovely items too!

Tasia’s Pendrell – image from the Sewaholic pattern store

The Sewaholic line currently consists of five patterns, although Tasia is adding it to it all the time. First up were the Crescent skirt (below) and the Pendrell blouse (above) which immediately took the sewing blogosphere by storm. I’ve made two versions of the Pendrell myself and love them both. I like the shape of the design although I have to make it a bit more tailored to suit my frame, but what I especially love is the construction details – the instructions for the view Tasia is modelling above contain the best guidance for an armhole facing I have ever seen.

Next up was the Lonsdale dress, modelled by member Roisin, below. This dress comes in two lengths, with a lovely knot tie detail at the front. Roisin said it was a dream to sew – and it even has pockets! She also agrees that it’s an ‘easy’ pattern despite how gorgeous it looks.

The other Sewaholic pattern I’ve made is the Minoru jacket which was launched last autumn. It was designed with cyclists in mind, and since I cycle a lot, and had been eyeing up some similar jackets, I snapped up the pattern immediately.

Again, despite how great it looks it’s very do-able, and as for all the other patterns, there is a sewalong on Tasia’s blog if you want a bit of extra support. I used some pretty cheap cotton drill type fabric as I wanted to try out quite a few adjustments but I jazzed it up a bit by adding piping down the front. I also lined the hood (which rolls up into its own zipped pocket) and added some in-seam pockets. There are inside pockets already in the pattern for keeping your keys and phone. Again, I loved the finish and the instructions and even though I’m not sure that my adjustments worked out 100% I get such a kick out of wearing it. I’m already planning another in a more exciting fabric.

Finally, Tasia has just launched a jersey knit top called the Renfrew – we’d love a review if any of you try it!

Sewaholic patterns are available at sewbox and other sites in the UK.

One response to “Lysy: Sewaholic pattern reviews

  1. I love the Sewaholic patterns too. I have made the lonsdale and I just bought fabric for the Minoru. I want to make a few of the Renfrew for the spring. All her patterns are so flattering! I also love Victory Patterns. This is an independent company that has flattering vintage/modern patterns. Again, they are quite flattering.

Leave a Reply

