Mary: Japanese Doll Quilt

My mum made a quilt that is really impressive so I am sharing it with you.

All the Kokeshi dolls and objects are hand appliqued, which must have taken ages. It took many different bits of material – between us we spent lots of time tracking down the right fabrics. There is so much to look at in this quilt, lots of lovely details in the dolls, which are all slightly different. I really like the border made up of small squares in all the different fabrics –  I would like to incorporate this detail into a project of my own.

3 responses to “Mary: Japanese Doll Quilt

  1. Oh my goodness, that is *beautiful*!! Did she have a pattern or did she make it up (and if the latter, she should write it up and sell it!)

  2. Thank you for your comments.

    It was a wonderful project to work on and took me a year! It was for my other daughter, Victoria’s, 30th birthday, so it had to be made in secret. Unfortunately I am not that artistic and I use a design in Quiltmania – fabulous, but expensive, French quilting magazine issues no. 77 and 78. See http://www.quiltmania.com.

    Mary – Zoe’s Mum

Leave a Reply

