Caroline: One from the Make List: Autumn Leaf Potholders

When I spotted the autumn leaf potholders on Design*Sponge last year I knew I would have to make them eventually, I just needed a really good excuse. My colleagues birthday crafting hamper provided just the opportunity I needed.

As many of my colleagues are either accomplished crafters or talented bakers, someone had come up with the brilliant concept of a hand-made gift comprising something sewn, knitted, baked or otherwise crafted from each of us. Being and October birthday, it seemed seasonal to go down the autumnal route, to complement the jams, marmalades and other such seasonal goods.

The felt I had bought didn’t seem sufficiently thick for heat resistance, so I quilted a backing piece and bound the edges – just to be on the safe side. I also hand-stitched mine, and created my own pattern, so the overall look is a nice variation on the original. I was very pleased with how they turned out – as was my colleague!

Leave a Reply

