Amy W: All the Fun of the Fair

Amy W is one of our online members and she lives in Cardiff.

It’s with a heartfelt hello to my fellow sew make believe members, that I can excitedly share that I am about to trade at my first ever vintage and handmade fair!  I am taking my beloved Wonderland Boutique and her vintage-style delights to Judy’s Affordable Vintage Fair in Cardiff, on October 15th.  The fair is the leading vintage fair in the UK and will be stopping in Cardiff at the Student’s Union on Park Place, and is open from 12pm-5pm.  Entry costs just £2 and for that you will be treated to over 40 stalls of vintage fashion, accessories, homewares, jewellery and as many other ephemera and curiosities as you dare to dream.  So, please spread the Wonderland word and if you’re in the area then do swing by and say hello and maybe snap up your own little piece of Wonderland:

Now for those of you who are nowhere near Cardiff (and I think that’s pretty much all of you!) Judy’s fairs run nationwide so check out their website for other dates on their vintage tour – and for all you Le Spa girls in particular, they’re stopping at The Assembly  on October 29th.

Now not only am I taking a massive gamble on putting myself and my wares out there with a foray into my first fair as a trader, I am following this up by attending a second fair only a week later!  Yes, it’s true; I am indeed a glutton for punishment….

This second fair is the brainchild of my very dear and talented friend Yvonne, of My Haunted Attic. Tired with not having any vintage, craft nor handmade events local to her in lovely Llanelli, she decided to also grab my metaphorical (and now tired) bull, and establish one of her very own.  So on October 22nd, at the historical Glenalla Hall in Llanelli, will be the inaugural Dandelion Clock Vintage and Handmade Fair.  It is open from 2pm-7pm, entry costs just £1 and all door fees and sales from the delectable tea room inside, will be donated to The Alzheimer’s Society.

There will be stalls aplenty featuring the best in vintage and handmade that South Wales has to offer – from vintage vinyl courtesy of The Box, delectable clothing, bags and hats from Ro Ro Retro of Carmarthen, the most beautiful hand stitched and embroidered items from Sweethearts and Roses, all manner of divine and eclectic vintage wares from My Haunted Attic, handmade goodies from Pembroke’s Canvas and Cloth, adorable crochet from Girly Bunches and many more.  The Dandelion Clock will also have the all manner of cupcakes, jams, chutneys and other sweet treats available all day to sate your hunger what with all that vintage shopping.  Finally, to keep with the distinctive Welsh flavour of the event, there will also be a spinning wheel demonstration and live music courtesy of local band, The Hollow Men.

So please spread the word about these wonderful fairs, and if you’re in Cardiff or Llanelli (or know someone who is) at the time, then do come along.  You’ll be guaranteed a great day out and more vintage and handmade treats to peruse, sample and buy, than you can possibly imagine.

So it’s on to the fairs, I will be sure to report back – wish me luck, fun and sales!

Amy at Wonderland Boutique x

Leave a Reply

