Zoë: Lavender Bags

I backed a quilt with a curtain, this left me with the hems that I had cut off. The bottom hem was 10cm high, it seemed too good to throw away. The top edge is stitched and the bottom edge is the fold leaving the two sides open.  I decided that I could make some simple lavender bags.

I cut some square pieces off and stitched bias binding round three sides leaving enough binding for the fourth side and remembering to leave one of the open ends as the unbound one! I filled it with dried lavender and stitched the binding over the opening.

I have tried attaching the binding in two different ways, using zig zag on my sewing machine and hand stitching it. The hand stitching looks much neater but it does take longer.

Leave a Reply

