Caroline: Button Cuff Project

When my sew make believe co-founder Kate mentioned that she was giving herself a mini-makeover with a nautical twist, I immediately decided I wanted to make her an item of jewelery to compliment her new clothes. I had bought some great stripy buttons at the Vintage and Handmade fair, and set about scouring the internet for a button bracelet tutorial.

There are tons of ways to make button bracelets, from charm-styles to bangles, using lots of buttons or a handful, chains or wire structures… but the one that really caught my eye was a cuff. There was no accompanying tutorial, so I made one up, using felt backing, an elasticated loop fastening, and blanket stitch edging. It’s a great way to showcase pretty buttons and to advertise to the world your crafty inclinations!

The main lesson I learned from Kate’s bangle is to measure your wrist carefully, allow for overlap, and start the loop fastening further up the cuff rather than at the end. If I were to make another cuff I’d be sure to add this extra length to ensure full coverage – the gap, whilst not unsightly, is something I’d wish to avoid.

3 responses to “Caroline: Button Cuff Project

  1. I am beyond thrilled with my cuff bracelet – its so comfortable to wear and extremely stylish. I love the stripey buttons especially – thank you so much for making this for me and making my week in the process.

    xx

  2. Pingback: Kate: Button embellished tee « sew make believe·

Leave a Reply

