Zoe W: Sun Panel (or how to make something out of nothing)

I wasn’t sure what to call this little thing I made, it’s not a stained glass panel and it’s not a sun-catcher really, so it became a sun panel.

I’ve got a reputation for making something out of nothing (not only in a crafty way, so I’m told) but I can’t say I was particularly impressed when my boyfriend presented me with a handful of coloured cellophane sweet wrappers he’d saved for me to ‘do something crafty with’.


I spent a week pondering what I could do with them, and inspired by the two stained glass panels I’ve had since I was a teenager I decided to try and make something similar.

In a trick I’ve learned when recycling plastic protective book covers, I ran the sweet papers under hot water to relax them and make them flatter, and dried them on kitchen paper.  They did leech a little colour, so I was glad I hadn’t used a tea-towel.


After sticking a piece of black paper to some card, I drew out the design.  I was thinking of the Art Deco sunburst patterns you sometimes see in the skylights above front doors.  I then cut it out with a craft knife.


I then trimmed the cellophane to size, and taped them in position.  It was quite buckled when I’d finished, so I left it for a few hours between some heavy books.  I’m pretty pleased with the finished effect, which I’ve propped up in the window near my old glass panels.  I think if I did it again I’d sandwich it between two pieces of card to give it more strength.  I think they could probably be used to make cards on a smaller scale.

One response to “Zoe W: Sun Panel (or how to make something out of nothing)

Leave a Reply

