Book Review: Sewing Green – Betz White

To fit in with our reuse and recycling theme this year I am reviewing the relevant craft books I have.

I bought Sewing Green by Betz White as I am interested in reuse, recycling and using organic materials. I really like the photos and it comes with paper patterns. I think this book would be suitable for novices as the instructions are very detailed and there is a futher information section at the back with various stitches and techniques.

I have only made one project from this book, the denim shopper (p.94). I had a denim skirt that I made from a pair of jeans, it was getting rather worn so I gave it another new lease of life as a bag. I found the instructions easy to follow, although I did alter some things to fit with what I wanted and the materials I was working with.

I don’t feel that I have learnt any new skills from this book so far, but there are other projects that I would learn from. The information about eco-friendly materials is interesting if you are buying something new rather than reusing.

This book inspired me to make a cushion cover out of a shirt using the buttons down the front as the opening, I got this idea from the aprons made from shirts.

I don’t feel that this book is all that different from other craft books in terms of projects to make, but it does make you think about how you can reuse items.

Leave a Reply

