The Gift of Friendship

As regular sew make believe readers know, we’re an intensely practical club, with a focus on skill-sharing and learning together. But one of the things we seldom mention when promoting sew make believe is the role the club plays in forging friendships, and yet this is central to the club’s ethos.

When Kate and I first met up with a view to creating this club it was out of a desire to fill a gap in the local scene. We both wanted to learn to sew. We both wanted to join a book club. But we both wanted to do these things in order to put ourselves out there and meet people, to make new friends. Two of the most often used lines we see in new member applications with regards to their reasons for joining remain “I’ve just moved nearby” and “To meet like-minded people” – which frankly were the foundations of the club in the first place!

Almost 14 months on we’re in the privileged position of being able to say that the club has been a success. We have forged some true, deep-rooted friendships, which I’m sure will continue to blossom as we continue to teach one another new things.

(And, as I said to my fella last week, it’s absolutely marvellous to have a sew make believe birthday – because in no other club would I receive so many unique and beautiful handcrafted gifts (see image), nor so many thoughtful notions with which to craft for myself!!)

2 responses to “The Gift of Friendship

  1. I second this! I celebrated my birthday with some of the wonderful women (and their equally wonderful menfolk) that I’ve met through SMB. I’ve lived in the area for a long time, but the friends I’ve made through the club have become as special and dear to me as the people I’ve known for years. And I too was given a beautiful array of handmade gifts and things to craft with!

Leave a Reply

