Craft Book News

I was lucky enough this week to win a new craft book after entering the competition run by the lovely Alice at Backstitch.

Fast Fabric Gifts by Sally Southern is described as ‘scrap fabric style, small scale sewing, thrifty chic’ which sit perfectly into both my craft wheelhouse (I love small, fast projects!) and the club’s make do and mend ethos. There are a ton of great projects from a pretty pencil case:

… to a heart decoration:

and many more.  There is also a useful techniques section which walks you through stitches, basic equipment and a list of suppliers.

I will be lending this to any club members who are interested in borrowing and it has prompted me to think in more details about one of the items which came out of the AGM, that being the club craft book swap / library system.  I am struggling to find a decent medium to use – there are plenty of book swap sites but they are geared for giving books away to strangers rather than loaning them to friends (and only friends!).  If anyone has any suggestions, I would be more than happy to hear them.  In the meantime, I will continue to look at goodreads.com and meetup.com amongst others to see if I can find a way to use these sites.

2 responses to “Craft Book News

  1. Oooh, that looks like a very useful book. With my ever growing scrap fabric pile, and the desire to make a fair few of my Christmas presents this year I may just need to invest in that one.

Leave a Reply

