Meeting #5

Attendees: Kate, Becky, Lauren, Alysa, Nadia
Location: The Sausage, Leamington Spa

Well, I have to say that last night’s meeting was another roaring success.  We welcomed two new members, Alysa and Nadia, who are both really lovely and (seem!) happy to be joining.  I am hoping to get them to add some info about themselves to the members page soon.

As well as our usual catch-up chat, we discussed a few club issues:

Subscriptions

By way of background, when I set up the meetup.com page (and paid the subscription) I had no idea if the club would take off.  It was a risk I was willing to take to try to get Sew Make Believe off the ground.  However, now that we have regular meetings, day trips in the calendar and a lot of ambition, I brought up the subject of subs which I hope will allow us to grow as a club and improve/maintain the experience for the members.

Everyone agreed that paying subs was reasonable (phew!) but left it to me to say how much and how to pay.  I want to make it as flexible as possible but still fair.  I have been thinking about this and I think a monthly subs amount of £7 would be a good place to start.  We could use this for more business cards and other posters/flyer plus the meetup.com fees.  Once we have a bit of a fund going, it can pay for our sewing days as well as other events I hope. Using meetup.com and paypal, members will be able to pay online or in person at the meetings.  I will keep a ledger to keep track of the dosh. Please feel free to leave a comment below if you have any thoughts on this.

EDIT: Since Paypal takes a fee for all payments received, the subs will be £7.50 if paid by Paypal or £7 if paid in person (cash or cheque).

Rag Market Trip

This Saturday, we are going to take a look around the famous Birmingham Rag Market.  We have arranged to meet at 11am in New Street Station in Birmingham, at the bottom of the main entrance escalators (by Millie’s Cookies).

For those getting the train from Leamington, the train for Birmingham leaves at 10.11am so I suggest we meet just before 10 so we can get tickets and find each other!

The rough plan for the days is:

  • Meet up
  • Mooch around the rag market, trying not to buy every piece of fabric in sight
  • Grab some lunch
  • Have a look around the 4-floors of Fancy Silk Store (opposite the Rag Market)

At some point, I need to go shopping for a wedding outfit for a wedding I am attending next Saturday (no pressure then) so people are welcome to join me to shop (although it might be quite painful!)

Shoebox

My dad is a member of the Rotary Club of Banbury and Cherwell and he is running a campaign to fill shoeboxes for kids in Eastern Europe for Christmas.  The idea is we are supplied with shoeboxes by Rotary, we fill the boxes with little gifts for the children: boys or girls, small kids or teenagers – you can choose.  Then we decorate the boxes, stick a £1 coin on the top and give them back to my dad so that Rotary can distribute them to some worthy destinations.

I thought that this sounded like a wonderful idea and loads of fun (who cares if these shoeboxes are meant to be filled and decorated by kids!).  I will set up an evening or weekend slot on meetup.com, probably contacting you on Facebook to find an appropriate day/evening.  I thought we could each make (under Caroline’s instruction) a sock toy for our boxes (only if you want, of course).  We can also decorate the boxes using old magazines.  I have a ton I should be doing something with so this will force me to get rid of them!

Fabric swap

We dicussed having a fabric stash swap meetup soon.  We will get together to raid my stash and if you have stashes of your own, bring them along to swap.  If you don’t have a stash, bring cake!!

Recipe book

Caroline and I discussed way back about making up a Sew Make Believe recipe book.  Last night, Alysa told me she has a ton of recipes on her blog so I would like to start collating all our favourite recipes and put them in a book – would be nice to be able to do this in time for Christmas so we can sell them or buy them ourselves as presents.   I was thinking that any profits from the books could be put into our SMB fund for future events. Please email me or bring along your recipes to our next meeting on 21st October if you would like to be involved.

Please get in touch if you have any questions about this or our meetup on Saturday.

2 responses to “Meeting #5

  1. It was great! I’ll definitely be back 🙂 I love the recipe book idea – I have hundreds of favourites on bits of paper all over the place.

Leave a Reply

